A caged monster

On Friday 10th April 2015, after 3 years of legal hurdles and a few twists and turns, we have finially put an extremely evil paedophile away. Together with other men of great courage, former Heanton School boys who have suffered voilence and abuse at the hands of John Downing, we finally got a jury to find him guilty of gross indeceny, indecent acts and voilence against boys from the age of 6 to 11. The jury took just under three hours to return guilty verdicts on 39 counts against John Downing. Within hours, he was sentenced to a total of 21 years in prison and taken away. The former teacher/carer of Heanton School, nr. Braunton, North Devon (1968 to the 1980’s), now a 73 year old man will unlikely ever see freedom again.

This is a realistic sentence and in a small way, it has helped me to find some closure for the 5 years I was sexually and physically abused by John Downing at Heanton School, from 1970 to 1975.

This is a proper, appropriatly lengthy sentence that will send a message out to the other surviving abusers from Heanton School and Kesgrave Hall School. It is just a matter of time before your day comes.  I would like to say to any other former boys that suffered sexual, physical and mental abuse at either of these (or other schools) this has been a good thing to do, a worthwhile thing.  It was not always easy to undertake, but I would encourage other former victims (survivors) to follow the legal path. There is a considerable amount of healing to be gained from it. Expose your abuser/s and improve your life and your mental health. It can work, the system will support you and listen to you. Justice can be achieved.

http://www.northdevonjournal.co.uk/North-Devon-teacher-jailed-21-years-boarding/story-26314113-detail/story.html

A message to John Downing – There is no more hiding in St. MIchael’s Church in Torrington behind the veneer of respectability anymore. The true John Downing is now exposed to the whole world. You are a vile, depraved and voilent creature who will now rot in prison for the rest of your days. You know what you did to us and you know you have only had to answer for a small fraction of your actions. You are disgusting and you know it. Think back to Wednesday 1st April 2015, at approximately 09:35 hours. You were sitting in the Crown Court at Exeter and clearly waiting for me to enter the Court. You knew I was being cross examined that day, because you had viewed my evidence the afternoon before. When I entered the Court with my partner, Mandy, you stared at us. I was not intimidated by you, I saw a sad, lonely old man. Can I remind you of what you saw. A confident, professional man who has achieved well in his life, being supported by a loving, beautiful women.

I would like to explain why I requested for the blinds to be put up in Court when I was cross examined. I was in no way intimidated by your presence in Court. The reason for my request was that I did not want to look at you, becuase you disgust me.

You did not ruin my life Downing. You and others made it difficult for me for a few years. You humilated me, beat me, you did disgusting, abhorent acts to me and in my presence, but I am better than you. I have a life, yours is now offically over. I feel no pity for you. I hope you rot in prison and one day you will have to answer properly for your sins against all those children.

In Court you misguidingly said that your actions and the voilence you used ‘was of the time’ – if that could in anyway mitigate your actions. Well, it is you who is now doing the time Mr Downing!!

One thought on “A caged monster

Leave a comment